Information Life Cycle Management in Cloud Computing

Information Life Cycle Management:

Information Life Cycle Management (ILM) is a procedure for organizing information via its life cycle, from the beginning to its clearance. It is a comprehensive approach to managing an organization’s data and associated metadata. It starts with its creation and acquisition when it becomes obsolete and deleted. ILM deals with all aspects of data throughout its lifespan, rather than focusing only on one facet of data management. A company’s ILM strategy can be a key factor in determining how well it manages risk. It consists of five major phases:

  • Creation
  • Storage
  • Processing
  • Disposition
  • Archival

Information Life Cycle Management in Cloud Computing

Information Life Cycle:

1. Creation: In the Creation stage, the information created and produced by a company or individuals. As an organization, you must identify all of the information sources from which you will receive or generate information.

2. Storage: It is a critical stage for any organization. This stage defines the information that will be stored, define backup schedules, maintain the information, and secure it in appropriate ways.

3. Processing: In the Processing stage, the information received, organized, and evaluated.

4. Disposition: This stage involves the disposal or retention of information.

5. Archival: It is the final stage of the information lifecycle. In this stage, organizations must clearly define how the information will be archived and what hardware will be used.