Software Development Life Cycle Phases

Software Development Life Cycle:

Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) defines a methodology for improving the quality of software and the overall development process. It is a well-defined process by which a system is conceived, developed, and implemented. SDLC is a process followed for a software project, within a software organization. It consists of a detailed plan describing how to develop, maintain, replace, and alter or enhance specific software.

Software Development Life Cycle Phases

SDLC Phases:

1. Planning:

Planning is the initial stage. This phase is about things like the costs of developing a product, capacity planning around team members, project schedule, and resource allocation. It can either be the plan of a groundbreaking thought or learning the current framework with progress as the objective. The planning stage additionally incorporates project plans, cost assessments, and acquisition necessities.

2. Analysis:

The analysis phase is the most important phase of the software development life cycle since it sets the requirements for what to build. In this phase, it is vital to understand the client’s requirements and make sure everyone is on board with the same understanding.

3. Design:

In this phase, the system and software design prepared from the requirement specifications. System Design helps in specifying hardware and system requirements and also helps in defining overall system architecture. The system design specifications serve as input for the next phase of the model.

4. Implementation:

After receiving system design documents, the work divided into modules, and actual frontend and backend coding started. Since, in this phase, the code produced so it is the main focus for the developer. Implementation is the longest phase of the software development life cycle (SDLC).

5. Testing

After the code developed, it tested against the requirements. It makes sure that the product is actually solving the needs addressed and gathered during the requirements phase. During the Testing phase, all types of functional testing like unit testing, integration testing, system testing, and acceptance testing are done as well as non-functional testing are also done.

6. Maintenance: When the customers start using the developed system then the actual problems come up and need to be solved from time to time. This process where care taken for the developed product known as maintenance. It is the last stage, however, it doesn’t end here. Now, the product item checked to guarantee the product working properly without any bugs or imperfections.