Types of Memory Unit of Computer

Memory Unit:

Memory unit of a computer can be defined as a way to measure the quantity of data collected together under a single memory location. It is also called a storage unit. These memory units indicate the number or amount of data picked and used for individual computation processes performed in a computing device.

Types of Memory Unit:

The Memory Unit is a collection of storage cells together with associated circuits needed to transfer information in and out of storage. There are mainly 12 types of memory units:


Bit is the least of the memory units that are used to represent the storage occupancy of the data in the memory space, that is, the data shown either in 0 or in 1.


1 nibble is equal to 4 bits. Nibble is also called half byte. It is the most often used in the context of hexadecimal number representations.

[no-highlight]1 Nibble = 4 bits


A group of byte eight bits is called a byte. It is a commonly used unit in the terminology of multiples of bytes, such as the prefixes kilobyte, megabyte, gigabyte, terabyte, etc.

[no-highlight]1 Byte = 8 bits


The memory stores binary information in groups of bits called words. A word in memory is an entity of bits that move in and out of storage as a unit.

[no-highlight]1 Word = 2 bytes


Kilobyte (KB) can be defined as one of the many multiples of the byte memory units. The prefix ‘kilo’ represents the unit to be ‘Kilo‘ and it comes in multiples of ‘1000’. But, here ‘Kilo’ means 1024 bytes. In short, 1Kilobyte or 1KB is equal to 1024 bytes.

[no-highlight]1 KB = 1024 bytes


Megabyte (MB) memory unit is used when the bits are large in number and when it makes it easy to say the number to be in lesser length.

[no-highlight]1 MB = 1024 KB


Gigabyte (GB) is a unit of data storage capacity that is roughly equivalent to 1 billion bytes.

[no-highlight]1 GB = 1024 MB


A terabyte (TB) is a memory unit of digital data that is equal to about 1 trillion bytes. The terabyte is mainly used as a measure of storage capacity or the amount of stored data.

[no-highlight]1 TB = 1024 GB


It is defined as a memory unit representing the higher multiples of bytes, next to the Terabyte that comes in PB units.

[no-highlight]1 PB = 1024 TB


It is a memory unit equal to the 10^18 equivalent in the international standards scale. Exabyte is equal to 1 billion GB.


Zettabyte is a memory unit of measurement used by technology professionals. It is equal to 1 billion TB.


Yottabyte is a unit of digital information storage used to denote the size of data. It is equivalent to a quadrillion GB.