Different Types of Image File Format

Types of Image File Format:

There mainly 10 types of Image file formats are:

1. Portable Network Graphics. (.png):

PNG is also a lossless raster image format. It stands for Portable Network Graphics. This image format has built-in transparency. It has also displayed higher colour depths, which translates into millions of colours. PNG is a web standard so, It’ll be the next-generation GIF.

2. Joint Photographic Experts Group (.jpeg):

JPEG stands for Joint Photographic Experts Group. It is a lossy raster format. Jpeg or jpg is one of the most widely used formats online. It is typically used for photos, email graphics and large web images like banner ads.

3. Windows Bitmap (.bmp):

The Windows bitmap (.bmp) image format was developed as a standard for representing graphic images as bitmaps on the Windows operating system. Windows Bitmap Images may be black-and-white, 16 colours, grayscale, palette, or RGB colour.

4. Graphics Image Format (.gif):

GIF stands for Graphics Interchange Format. It is a lossless raster format. The GIF is also widely used in web image format, typically for animated graphics like banner ads, email images, etc.

5. Tagged Information File Format (.tif):

TIFF is a lossless raster format. It stands for Tagged Image File Format. It is an extremely high-quality image format that is primarily used in photography and desktop publishing.

6. RAW:

This image format contains the unprocessed data captured by a digital camera. RAW images are processed (adjusted for colour, white balance, etc) and then converted and compressed into another format such as JPEG or JPG, or TIFF.

7. PSD:

PSD stands for Photoshop Document file. It contains an image with layers and masks. Each layer in the file is stacked on top of the other, allowing users to create and edit images using multiple levels of transparency.

8. SVG:

SVG stands for Scalable Vector Graphics. It is an XML vector image format. They’re generally used for logos and other designs that must be reproduced at a variety of sizes. This makes them ideal for high-resolution photos that will be printed or used for other high-resolution activities.

9. WebP:

WebP stands for Web Picture format. It is a raster graphics file format developed by Google intended as a replacement for JPEG, PNG, and GIF file formats. It also provides lossless compression of digital images. By lossless compression, it means that the original image is maintained even as the size is reduced. In the WebP file format are typically 20% to 25% smaller than equivalent JPEG images, allowing for faster loading times over a network and reduced storage costs.

10. AVIF:

AVIF stands for AV1 Image File Format. It is a modern, open-source image compression format. The AVIF format is based on the AV1 video codec, which was developed by the Alliance for Open Media (AOMedia) to provide efficient and high-quality video compression. In a number of tests by Netflix in 2020, AVIF showed better compression efficiency than JPEG as well as better detail preservation, fewer blocking artifacts and less color bleeding around hard edges in composites of natural images, text, and graphics.