Cloud Security Design Principles

Earlier, computer software was written without considering safety. However, due to the growing complexity and regularity of malicious attacks against information systems, up-to-date software is of paramount importance. Along with cloud computing systems looking for meeting diverse purposes such as rate, dependability, functioning, safety, and sustainability, trade-offs need to be made.


Qualys is used to secure devices and web apps without the requirement of any extra hardware or software. The company also analyzes and ensures that your system is free from threats. You can also solve the problem of malware using Qualys. It is used to scan all web apps for vulnerabilities and safe data while using SaaS, Iaas, and PaaS.

White Hat Security:

It refers to carefully listening to protect your website from the very beginning that is from the coding process. It facilitates the Sentinel product suite as a service to protect your website using various products. It provides you with information pertaining to current threats to avoid coding vulnerabilities in the website. Sentinel helps you to assess web apps for vulnerabilities and gives you information about various loopholes in the application.


It offers an identity management tool to ascertain who is where and why. You can collect information about employees working at the backend and front end. It also supports and manages logins for all applications including Google Apps, Salesforce, etc.


Proofpoint is specially designed to find loopholes in emails. It supports various email pops with the weakest links.


Zscaler has an efficient and advanced tool for security and monitors all the traffic in a network of a particular cloud.


It is a security tool that supports file-sharing services. While transferring data from one system to another, data changes at many levels or it could be used for malicious work. DocTrackr works to prevent these.


Some of the following are the major Cloud Security Design Principles that must be kept in mind:

1. Least Privilege:

The belief of minimum opportunity refers to the fact that a personal, procedural, or another kind of unit must be provided with the least resources and opportunities for the least amount of time to fulfill an assignment. Privileges such as read, write and access are not necessary to be provided to all types of users.

2. Separation of Duties:

Separation of responsibilities gives users of duty and modules are always divided into subparts for the active participation of all users and for completion of the task on time.

3. Defense in Depth:

Defence in depth is the application of various layers of safety in which succeeding layers will offer safety in case a preceding layer is broken due to some reason.

4. Defense in Multiple Places:

At different levels, there are various authentication levels so everyone trying to access the data has to give necessary authentication so that only the right person is able to access that data keeping the data safe from the internal and external world.

5. Layered Defences:

A plurality of information security and finding methods is used so that accessing vital information does not become easy for everyone.

6. Security Robustness:

According to the importance of the information system, an estimate of the potency of information is to be ascertained, and the expected threats are measured.

7. Deploy KMI/PKI:

Various security measures are used for keeping data safe from the external world. For example, the use of public key infrastructure (PKI) and robust key management infrastructure (KMI), PKI and KMI deal with cryptography that maintains a record of the various symmetric and asymmetric keys used for different types of plain text and cipher text during cryptography.

8. Deploy Intrusion Detection Systems:

Apart from the firewall system, an intrusion detection system must also be implemented so that an alarm is raised if there is any problem in the network.

9. Fail-safe:

It means that if a cloud system crashes, it must crash into a situation where the safety of the system and its data aren’t negotiated. in a state where the renewal of a system isn’t done mechanically, the crashed system must allow access to the system manager and not to other users, until safety powers are reinstated.

10. The Economy of Mechanism:

The mechanisms used should support a comprehensive and simple plan for the implementation of security measures so that unintentional access can be filtered out and supported to safeguard the data.

11. Complete Mediation:

In complete mediation, each request regarding accessing information should pass through an applicable and effective process. For controlling and safeguarding data from external access, an uninterrupted supply of services with smooth and flexible components along with various checks are provided to users. The entire process of intrusion requires the following:

1. Recognition of the unit making the access demand.

2. Confirmation that the demand has not been altered since its commencement.

3. Application of suitable approval processes.

4. Reconsideration of previously authorized needs by a similar unit.

12. Leveraging Existing Components:

The safety levels of cloud implementation should be utilized to their maximum capacity. Appraising the situation and status of the existing safety means and guaranteeing that they are working to their best will significantly progress the safety bearing of an information system.